Jun 18, 2014 16:13 Asia/Seoul Time Zone
  • - A look back at the first ever Taekwondo Hall of Fame Ceremony held in birthplace Korea
NEW JERSEY, USA--(Korea Newswire) June 18, 2014 -- The Taekwondo Hall of Fame which is based in the USA and recognized world-wide recently named Professor Kook Hyun Jung and GM Dong Keun Park as Korea’s All Time Best Taekwondo Players. Induction into the Taekwondo Hall of Fame is the highest honor one can receive in the world of sports.

Dong Keun Park recently named Korea’s All-Time Best National Taekwondo Champion by the Taekwondo Hall of Fame served as captain of the Korea national team in the 1960’s. He was undefeated winning 6 gold medals in national competition before retiring. In addition to introducing Taekwondo to American troops in Thailand he relocated to the USA and eventually served as head coach of the 1992 US Olympic Taekwondo team. Although he was actually inducted into the Taekwondo Hall of Fame in 2007 he was recognized at the Taekwondo Hall of Fame ceremony at Kukkiwon on August 25th 2011 as Korea’s greatest national champion of all time. He currently teaches in Jersey City, New Jersey

Kook Hyun Jung was recently named as Korea’s All-Time Best World and Olympic Taekwondo Champion by the same organization. A professor at the National Sports University of Korea he made history by becoming the first person to win 4 World Titles as well as a gold medal at the 1988 Olympic Games. His highest honor came in 2011 when he was inducted into the TAEKWONDO HALL OF FAME® in an historic ceremony held in Kukkiwon Gymnasium on August 25, 2011. It was the first time that the TAEKWONDO HALL OF FAME was held in Korea the birthplace of Taekwondo.

The ceremony held August 25, 2011 saw numerous persons from all corners of the globe receive the highest honor in the world of martial art and sports. What made first Taekwondo Hall of Fame ceremony held in Korea more historic was that the honorees were comprised of pioneer instructors, leaders as well as world and Olympic champions who were members of the ITF, WTF, Global Taekwon-Do and all other major organizations. This was the first ceremony of its kind in the history of Taekwondo.

The Founder and Executive Director of the Taekwondo Hall of Fame is Gerard Robbins of the USA who competed as a member of the USA National team at the 2nd World Championships held in Korea in 1975 and Pre-World Championships held in 1978. For his work in creating the Taekwondo Hall of Fame Gerard has received letters of congratulations from Taekwondo pioneers and leaders from all major Taekwondo organizations around the glob including the Kukkiwon and Dr. Chungwon Choue President of the World Taekwondo Federation.

Other persons originally from Korea who were honored at the ceremony in Korea included Kukkiwon President Won Sik Kang, Lee Chong Woo, Dr. Un Yong Kim, Dr. Sang Kee Paik, Eui Min Ko, Shinchul Kang, Ik Jo Kang, II Joo Kim, Soo Kon Kim, Jae Yoon Ahn, Myung Sam Chang and CISM President Lieutenant Colonel Seong Sup Lim.

Persons honored from other countries included Wong Liang Ming,(Singapore), Herbert Perez (USA), Linda Park (Canada), Yonten Tharchen (Bhutan), Milan Kwee (Singapore), Tommy Legind Mortensen (Denmark), Pius Ilukhor (Nigeria), Galip Ziya Yalçınkaya (Turkey), Soo Kon Kim, (USA), Noemi Prone (Argentina), Joao Correia (Portugal) Mr. Hassan Iskandar (Australia), Roxane Forget (Canada), Seri Vibhatavanija (Thailand) David Chaanine (Lebanon), Nuno Dâmaso (Switzerland), David Kerr (Brazil) Ben Oude Luttikhuis (Netherlands) and others.

Persons honored in previous ceremonies included the original kwan founders. Choi Hong Hi (Oh Do Kwan), Won Kuk Lee (Chung Do Kwan), Hwang Kee (Moo Duk Kwan), Byung Jik Rho (Song Moo Kwan) , and Chun Sang Sup (Ji Do Kwan) and pioneers Nam Tae Hi, Chang Keun Choi, Young II Kong, Sang Min Cho, Rhee Ki Ha, Kim Bok Man

The Taekwondo Hall of Fame which is recognized world wide as the official ”Hall of Fame” and is trademarked under registration no. REG. NO. 3,147,847 with the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office.
The Taekwondo Hall of Fame has been collecting historic articles for later display in a museum. If you have any competition films such as the 1973 1st World Championships, the 1978 Pe-World Games, documents, medals, dan certificates, uniforms or other historic items which you believe should be displayed in a museum please send us the details to TKDHOF@GMAIL.com

The next official Taekwondo Hall of Fame ceremony is tentatively scheduled for
September 2015 in Europe. Those interested in more informatiion visit. www.taekwondohalloffame.com or send an email to TKDHOF@GMAIL.com

The Taekwondo Hall of Fame is recognized world wide as the one and only official ”Hall of Fame” for the martial art / global sport and is trademarked under. REG. NO. 3,147,847 with the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office in Washington D.C.
  • Media Contact
  • Gerard Robbins
    +1 973 919 5464
Korea Newswire distributes press releases to thousands of news media, internet portals across Korea and around the world.
submit a press release »